Home Movie News Napa Valley Film Festival Announces 2012 Call for Entries

Napa Valley Film Festival Announces 2012 Call for Entries

Napa Valley Film Festival Announces 2012 Call for Entries


2nd annual Film Festival, November 7 – 11, 2012, includes $10,000 cash prize for Best Narrative Feature, presented by Meadowood Napa Valley


NAPA, Calif. (February 1, 2012) – The Napa Valley Film Festival (NVFF) is now accepting film submissions for the second annual event. Showcasing the best of new independent cinema while embracing the epicurean pleasures of Napa Valley, NVFF unspools November 7 – 11, 2012 with a five-day celebration spread over four of the Napa Valley’s postcard-perfect towns.

NVFF welcomes submissions of any genre and will be selecting approximately 75 new films, including short films, animation, student works, narrative features, documentaries, and world cinema. Organizers are looking for films that will best entertain, inspire, educate and intrigue audiences. NVFF also features a selection of bold, boundary-pushing films in a dedicated venue called The Lounge. Categories eligible for Juried and/or Audience Awards include: U.S. Narrative Feature, U.S. Documentary Feature, U.S. Narrative Short and U.S. Documentary Short Subject.

Directors of films in competition for Best U.S. Narrative Feature participate in NVFF’s Artists-in-Residence workshop and mentoring program in partnership with the Meadowood Napa Valley luxury resort. Mentors who participated in the inaugural NVFF this past November included Cinetic Media’s John Sloss (who also served as President of the Jury); trail-blazing producer of MONEYBALL, Michael De Luca (whose Jennifer Garner-starrer BUTTER also screened at the festival); prolific indie producer J. Todd Harris (BLACK IRISH); and actor James Cromwell (THE ARTIST, and NVFF Narrative Competition Selection, A YEAR IN MOORING). All NVFF filmmakers are invited to meet mentors, jury members and fellow filmmakers at an intimate industry reception during the festival week.

At 2011’s Closing Night Awards Ceremony, jury members Peter Belsito (Film Finders, indieWIRE) and film critic Kirk Honeycutt presented the $10,000 cash prize for Best Narrative Feature to MAMITAS, filmmaker Nicolas Ozeki’s first feature. Ozeki, a graduate of Chapman University, based MAMITAS on his M.F.A. thesis short film of the same name. Meadowood Napa Valley will once again award the Best U.S. Narrative Feature Director with $10,000 and the Mt Veeder Appellation will present a $1,000 Peak Performance Award to the Best Actor in a U.S. Narrative Feature.

The program for the inaugural NVFF (November 2011) included a sneak preview of Clint Eastwood’s J. EDGAR, Opening Night Presentation THE DESCENDANTS, Closing Night Presentation LIKE CRAZY, Special Documentary Presentation UNDEFEATED, and another 90-plus films, as well as panel discussions on criticism, music, pitching and acting. The inaugural Tribute Evening was hosted by Access Hollywood’s Billy Bush and honored actors Felicity Jones (LIKE CRAZY), Judy Greer (THE DESCENDANTS) and Jeffrey Wright (THE IDES OF MARCH).

2011 Spotlight Tribute actress Judy Greer had this to say about her experience at NVFF: “It’s pretty much my favorite film festival ever. On top of how awesome Napa Valley is, [the festival is] spread out enough that you get to see a lot of the different towns. And of course the food and wine is amazing!”

Filmmakers can enter their work now at Withoutabox.com. Entry fees for student projects start at just $20. NVFF has made an effort to keep student fees low throughout the entry period, with discounts available for the regular through extended deadlines. The early submission deadline is February 29; regular submission deadline is April 16; late submission deadline is May 31; and the final extended submission deadline (for withoutabox.com members only) is June 28. Visit www.napavalleyfilmfest.org for full details.

About the Napa Valley Film Festival

The Napa Valley Film Festival is produced by Cinema Napa Valley, a registered 501c3 non-profit organization headquartered in Napa, California. The festival’s co-creators (and Cinema Napa Valley Founders) are Brenda and Marc Lhormer, producers and distributors of the feature film BOTTLE SHOCK, about the historic upset victory by Napa Valley wines over the French at the infamous 1976 wine-tasting competition in Paris. BOTTLE SHOCK premiered at the 2008 Sundance Film Festival before going on to international theatrical distribution. The husband-and-wife team also ran the successful Sonoma Valley Film Festival from 2001 through 2008. In addition to producing the annual Napa Valley Film Festival, Cinema Napa Valley presents special film programs throughout the year and provides support to student filmmaking programs in Napa Valley schools. To learn more, visit www.napavalleyfilmfest.org.


Nic LaRue Nic LaRue is the owner of FilmSnobbery, is an advocate and passionate speaker for indie film, a film reviewer, and the host of the web broadcast series FilmSnobbery Live! Nic also offers his services as an independent film consultant whose passion is giving a voice to independent content creators.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.